My first official steps

After consulting with my friend Rodan Gordon and others, and spending frustrating hours on relevant websites, I made plans to open up my file in Maam and Mas Hachnasa and Bituach Leumi.

I was all set to go the the Maam ofices at Kanfei Nesharim street 66 and then to the Mas Hachnasa office at Center 1, in spite of there being a Mas Hachnasa office in Kanfei Nesharim 66, because I was led to believe that as a Maale Adumim resident, the Kanfei Nesharim Tax clerks would not give me the time of day, and I would only get service at Center 1. However, I was happily informed that in spite of the [hand written] sign in the first Mas Hachnassa office I was directed to asserting that Maale Adumim residents are persona non grata, that is only for gvia or tium mas or some other officialness that I will have to deal with in the future. Today, assured me the guard at Kanfei (who doubles as Modiin – information), I could OPEN a tik atzmaim in Mas Hachnassa here, floor three or minus one.

Then I sat down to write this entry (free electrical outlet in the entry hall at Kanfei; false Wifi though) and had a delicious Pinati choumous and ful in a pita (12 NIS to go, in spite of the sign that says 13 NIS. No, my mistake, the humus is 12, its the shakshuka that’s 13. The humus was great, but next time Shakshuka:-)

Leave a Reply

