deductibles

Jacob wrote:

Gidon, thanks for your blog, it’s really helpful! I am at the point of making my decision now – patur or murshe. and before i go to a tax advisor i’d like to know as much as i can. Can you please advise, whether osek patur can have deductibles like partial car expenses, gas, electricity, office rent, etc? I do not mean VAT, but reduction of the final profit i’ll get to pay taxes from? Or the taxes are calculated from my “brutto” income?

Someone also said, i cannot do web site support and development as osek patur, even if i get less than64k a year. Is it really so?

I’ll really appreciate your help.

Here’s my answer:

Remember, I am not an official tax advisor, just a fellow shnook who tries to help and be helped;-)

From my understanding, an Osek Patur makes so little money, they are patur (not required to) collect and foward/pay VAT tot he VAT authorities. This comes to about 64K NIS a year (give or take a few 10k’s).  From my understanding, if you are making so little money a year, you are not going to be paying mas hachnasa to the mas hachnasa authorities, either. So “deductibles” are immaterial. The idea of deductibles is to deduct their value from your brutto gross income, and then calculate the tax you owe. Since you are starting with zero tax owed, you can’t go lower than that:-) PS this is what happens to me and so I am lax with collecting “deductible expense” receipts like cab fares, ink, computer, etc.

If you do end up owing taxes cause you make more than the minimum, than the bottom line is easy: was this expense instrumental in generating income for you. Would you have been able to generate income without expending for this. The partial expenses you list are maybe hazier than an ink cartridge, but you can and should ask on internet forums, this is a simple question.

>>Someone also said, i cannot do web site support and development as osek patur, even if i get less than64k a year. Is it really so?

Don’t tell that person about me, that’s exactly what I do:-) My declared business (iirc – they strangely do not give you a copy of your request to open a business including the field where you describe your services – I spent about an hour crafting that sentence!) was “Office Services, Translations and Internet services”.  I think “sherutei Internet” should do the trick for you too.

 

2 Responses to deductibles

  1. Chana Leah says:

    Hi There Gidon,

    I have been reading your blog on-and-off for a while.
    I just opened an osek patur, but I am still working in a regular “sachir”
    job part-time.
    I wanted to ask you the following:
    Will this affect the taxes that I will pay at my sachir job or as an osek
    patur?
    If so, do I need to visit Te’um mas or any other office to fix this?

    Thanks for your help,
    Chana Leah

    • Gidon Ariel says:

      Dear Chana Leah,

      Thanks for writing, sorry for the time lag in responding, I guess you get what you pay for:-)

      I have been reading your blog on-and-off for a while. I just opened an osek patur, but I am still working in a regular “sachir” job part-time. I wanted to ask you the following: Will this affect the taxes that I will pay at my sachir job or as an osek patur?

      >>I remind you, my “advice” is not professional, just my educated guess. Depending on your salaried income, it probably will not impact. I don’t have the exact numbers, but from what I understand, if your combined income is under a certain number, you do not pay more. See below>>

      If so, do I need to visit Te’um mas or any other office to fix this?

      >>The question isn’t how much tax you will pay, but how much people will withhold from you. Ultimately, around Pesach you will go to the free advice hours, and they will help you complete your tax return (doch shnati) and tell you how little if any tax you will have to pay. But until then, you should go the Mas Hachnasa and get a teum mas, so your salaried job won’t deduct more than he should, and your clients won’t think they have to withhold at source (nikkui mas bamakor). Getting a teum mas is painless, just takes time. I understand that you can do it online nowadays. Taxes.mof.gov.il or something like that.

      Thanks for your help, Chana Leah

      Thanks, Gidon Ariel Root Source Mitzpe Nevo 29, Maale Adumim 98410 Israel gidon@root-source.com 054-5665037, 02-5354586 http://www.root-source.com/ http://www.bit.ly/sensitive-friends

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

